Beer. Brownie. Beer Brownies.

I don’t make a lot of desserts. I think working in a bakery wore me out. I literally took home cookies, macaroons, focaccia, bread, and dessert bars EVERY SINGLE DAY. However, I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to put some Founder’s beer in a dessert.

I personally get overwhelmed by sugar very easily, therefore I always try to use as little as possible. I used 60% cocoa bars for this recipe, splitting it between one 60% and one 70% bar would be the perfect ratio of sweet to bitter. I’m also a purest when it comes to desserts. I don’t like artificial ingredients to make things “healthier”. I prefer to have a small serving of the real deal.

A double broiler is the “ideal” way to melt chocolate but I don’t have the time or patience for that. A microwave is your best friend for chocolate melting, but do this in small time increments since the chocolate can burn easily (i.e. 15-20 seconds at a time, remove and stir until melted).

IMG_2758.JPG

Ingredients

Serves 9

1 cup of all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon of salt

8 ounces of chocolate (60% or 70% cocoa depending on how sweet you like brownies…I used 60%)

1 1/2 sticks of butter

1/2 cup of white sugar

1/2 cup of brown sugar

1 tablespoon of vanilla extract

1/2 cup of beer (preferably a stout or porter, I used Founders Porter)

3 eggs

 

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Mix together flour and salt
  3. In a separate bowl melt together chocolate and butter (double broiler or microwave).
  4. Once chocolate/butter mixture is smooth, mix in brown sugar, white sugar, vanilla extract, and beer.
  5. Mix in eggs, one at a time
  6. Combine flour/salt mixture into chocolate mixture
  7. Bake in an 8×8 or 9×9 pan for 35-40 minutes
  8. Check with toothpick (should come out clean)
  9. Cool and serve (pairs well with vanilla ice cream or vanilla gelato)

Enjoy!

-Jenn

Leave a Reply

